News

Spectacular ‘Pink Moon’ To Rise Over Earth On Good Friday

The once-a-year phenomenon will occur on Good Friday as the moon is completely illuminated by the sun.

Once a year Stargazers around the world will be treated to a stunning astronomical display of a full Pink Moon.

This years full pink moon is expected to occur on Good Friday at 12:12 BST (07.12 EST)

The Pink Moon is named after a pink wildflower whose blooming times coincide, The colour of the moon does not change.

The name comes from the Herb moss pink phlox, which blooms in early spring in the US.

The pink moon is named after the moss pink phlox, which has a coinciding blooming time

According to the farmer’s Almanac, the pink moon will reach peak fullness at 12.12 BST. 

Australians will be able to view the pink moon on Friday, April 19 at 9:12 PM AEST.

Americans will be able to catch the event as it reaches its peak at 7:12A.M EST. 

In China, it will occur in the evening time starting from approximately 4:03P.M.

France, Italy and Spain will be able to catch it at around 13.00 (WET) and it will reach its peak in eastern Europe at around 14.00 (EET). 

According to the farmer’s Almanac, the full moon reaches peak fullness at 12.12 BST. 

The timing of the full moon’s appearance is determined by the moons location while it’s in orbit around the Earth.

American commuters making their way to work would be able to catch the event as it reaches its peak at 7:12am EST.

For the best chance of seeing it, try to head to an area with little light pollution, so the moon will look particularly bright in the night sky. 

In China, it will occur in the evening time starting from approximately 4pm, calculated from China Standard Time. 

France, Italy and Spain will be able to catch it at around 13.00 (WET) and it will reach its peak in eastern Europe at around 14.00 (EET). 

The pink moon will occur when the moon is located on the opposite side of the Earth as the sun, meaning its face is fully illuminated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *